BEST and BSAS Awards 2017

Welsh doctors have been honoured by the Wales Deanery at an event hosted by the British Medical Association (BMA) at the National Museum in Cardiff. The successful nominees were rewarded with accolades for their excellence in training the next generation of medical and dental professionals across Wales.

All Welsh doctors in training were asked to nominate a consultant, GP, dentist or staff and associate specialty grade doctor, who they believed performed outstandingly. The following healthcare professionals were named BEST trainers of the year 2017:

Dr Andrew Campbell, Consultant in Intensive Care Medicine and Anaesthesia at Wrexham Maelor Hospital; Dr Louise Cook, Associate Specialist in Sexual and Reproductive Health at St Cadoc’s Hospital, Caerleon; Ms Sujatha Udayasankar, Associate Specialist in General/Breast Surgery at Prince Phillip Hospital, Llanelli; Dr Amer Jafar, Associate Specialist in Medicine at St Woolos Hospital, Newport; and Dr Rhian Farquharson, Consultant in Emergency Medicine at Royal Gwent Hospital, Newport.

Professor Peter Donnelly, Interim Postgraduate Dean at the Wales Deanery, said: “The Wales Deanery is extremely proud to have developed the BEST awards in recognition of the high standards of medical and dental education in Wales. Once again, the standards have been exceptional, and reflect the time and commitment from those doctors and dentists at the forefront of training and education. The BEST awards are a fitting celebration for all those nominated by their trainees for the time, care and effort they put into the role on a daily basis.”

Dr Louise Cook, winner of the Wales Deanery’s ‘Staff and Associate Specialist Award for Innovation in Education’ said, “What an experience - from discovering that someone had taken the time and consideration to nominate me through to becoming the recipient of an award.  The process was insightful making me reflect on my role as an Associate Specialist and educator as well as making me realise the work I do and the fantastic support I have from my colleagues. Receiving recognition for my role as an educator has been an unexpected but incredible experience and one I will be sharing with the rest of my team as they have all contributed towards my success.”

Meanwhile, Dr Andrew Campbell, winner of the Wales Deanery’s ‘Secondary Care Award’, said “I was absolutely thrilled to be nominated by our trainees for this award. It is an ongoing privilege to hold a position where I get to feed the enthusiasm and interests of our junior doctors as they come through Intensive care medicine. I am obviously delighted to receive the award on a personal level, but also very proud to be part of the excellent team of educators in North Wales.”

Ms Sujatha Udayasankar, winner of the Wales Deanery’s ‘Staff and Associate Specialist Award for Clinical Service Innovation’, stated that, “I am greatly honoured to receive the BEST Award for Clinical Innovation 2017. I take this opportunity to thank the Breast Care team, Prince Philip Hospital, Surgical Directorate and Hywel Dda UHB for inspiration, support and guidance. I thank the Wales Deanery for organising the event; an excellent opportunity to meet the dignitaries and network with other outstanding achievers in Wales. I aspire to take this forward for my future endeavours and inspire my colleagues.”

Dr Helen Baker, the Deanery's Associate Director for Secondary Care and recipient of this year's Dean's Recognition Award, said, "I am extremely proud and honoured to have received this award, which came as a complete surprise. I have a great job which I thoroughly enjoy, opportunities to develop and innovate, and a fantastic, dedicated and supportive team, all of which has led to the many successes recognised through this award."

The awards form part of the Wales Deanery’s extensive programme of work to recognise and reward trainers, and its view that the quality of medical and dental practice and safety of patients are crucially dependent on the quality of training provided. They also contribute to the Deanery’s implementation of regulatory (GMC) requirements for the formal recognition of trainers in secondary care through the development and support of high quality trainers including Educational and Clinical Supervisors.

The annual BEST awards are part of the BMA/BMJ Clinical Teacher of the Year Awards, which is a collaboration between Cardiff Medical School, Swansea Medical School and the Wales Deanery.

The four winners of the award also received a Medical Education Bursary worth £3,000. The strategic aim of the Wales Deanery is to commission, quality manage and support the education and training of trainees, hospital doctors, GPs, dentists and DCPs in Wales. 

Back to top